anafranil online
IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> New User/ Restricting an area
Mauricio
post Mar 29 2012, 03:50 PM
Post #1


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 29-March 12
Member No.: 3,382



Hello all

New user here, slowly climbing the steep learning curve.

I'd like to ask if someone could explain to me how to do this:

In my project I have two simple milling operations, to be done with a .094" endmill. The problem is that my tool has a shank that is 1/8" diameter, and the tool body is relatively short. What would happen is that if I was to machine it as the toolpath shows, the shank would crash against the vertical wall of the housing (the workpiece for this project is a finished housing that only needs to have these pockets machined).

How do I tell the software to pocket the right square, but avoid the vertical wall so that the tool's shank doesn't crash against it?

Thanks,

Mauricio
Attached File(s)
Attached File  229_11_incomplete.stc ( 1.86MB ) Number of downloads: 2
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sprut_UK
post Mar 29 2012, 05:27 PM
Post #2


Advanced Member
***

Group: Administrators
Posts: 1,091
Joined: 12-December 07
From: United Kingdom
Member No.: 4



Hi Mauricio, and welcome to the forum.
I have downloaded your attached project, but it appears to be corrupt. Can you please zip it and reattach it so that I can try it again?

Dave


--------------------
"Never interrupt your opponent when he is making a mistake..." - Napoleon Bonaparte
www.sprut.co.uk
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mauricio
post Mar 29 2012, 05:36 PM
Post #3


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 29-March 12
Member No.: 3,382



QUOTE (Sprut_UK @ Mar 29 2012, 10:27 AM) *
Hi Mauricio, and welcome to the forum.
I have downloaded your attached project, but it appears to be corrupt. Can you please zip it and reattach it so that I can try it again?

Dave



Here it is again, Sir, and thanks so much for looking
By the way, I just opened it again, just to make sure, and I can open it with no problems. My version is 7, build 1.6, rev 50677

Mauricio
Attached File(s)
Attached File  229_11_incomplete.zip ( 507.66K ) Number of downloads: 5
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sprut_UK
post Mar 30 2012, 08:15 AM
Post #4


Advanced Member
***

Group: Administrators
Posts: 1,091
Joined: 12-December 07
From: United Kingdom
Member No.: 4



Hi Mauricio,

Ok, that one opens correctly.
In the attached modified version of your project I have added an extruded curve with stock as a fixture to achieve what you needed.

I hope that this helps.

Dave
Attached File(s)
Attached File  229_11_incomplete_dp.zip ( 519.02K ) Number of downloads: 10
 


--------------------
"Never interrupt your opponent when he is making a mistake..." - Napoleon Bonaparte
www.sprut.co.uk
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mauricio
post Mar 30 2012, 09:09 PM
Post #5


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 29-March 12
Member No.: 3,382



QUOTE (Sprut_UK @ Mar 30 2012, 01:15 AM) *
Hi Mauricio,

Ok, that one opens correctly.
In the attached modified version of your project I have added an extruded curve with stock as a fixture to achieve what you needed.

I hope that this helps.

Dave



Thanks so much for your help. I would've thought that, by adding a tool holder that represents the shank diameter, SC would solve correctly, avoiding collisions, but it seems that is not the case.

Mauricio
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sprut_UK
post Mar 31 2012, 09:53 PM
Post #6


Advanced Member
***

Group: Administrators
Posts: 1,091
Joined: 12-December 07
From: United Kingdom
Member No.: 4



Did SprutCAM calculate the cutterpaths that were required?


--------------------
"Never interrupt your opponent when he is making a mistake..." - Napoleon Bonaparte
www.sprut.co.uk
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mauricio
post Apr 10 2012, 05:21 PM
Post #7


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 29-March 12
Member No.: 3,382



QUOTE (Sprut_UK @ Mar 31 2012, 02:53 PM) *
Did SprutCAM calculate the cutterpaths that were required?


Hello

Yes, SC calculated toolpaths properly, after your method was used. I still have the lingering question of why, when adding toolholder information to the tool, SC didn't seem to take that into account when writing the toolpath. With the toolholder information, it is clear that, if the given toolpaht is followed, there would be a collision with the existing part...

Mauricio
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sprut_UK
post Apr 10 2012, 06:59 PM
Post #8


Advanced Member
***

Group: Administrators
Posts: 1,091
Joined: 12-December 07
From: United Kingdom
Member No.: 4



SprutCAM does not modify the milling cutterpaths based upon the holder being used. The toolholder is used by the simulator to check if there was a collision between the toolholder and the part / workpiece, if there is, you have the option of selecting the 'Stop on collision' option to check where the collision occurred so that appropriate corrective measures can be taken.

Dave


--------------------
"Never interrupt your opponent when he is making a mistake..." - Napoleon Bonaparte
www.sprut.co.uk
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th July 2019 - 06:24 AM