Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> problem milling a slot/ramp
bll230
post Nov 14 2013, 05:17 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 3,558

I need help. I am trying to mill the 4 slot/ramps. I never thought this would be complicated. Nothing I try works, can Mr. SprutUK take a look at it.

Thanks

John

Attached File(s)
Attached File  raptorgearfixtureplate.stc ( 725.99K ) Number of downloads: 10

Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
danh818
post Nov 14 2013, 08:26 PM
Post #2

Member No.: 3,448

Hey John,
I'm no expert, but I have a couple ideas about your project.
I think that 3d contouring or plane would work well. My guess as to why you are having such difficulty though, is because of the way you have setup your local cs1. It looks a thought your local cs is set to g54, I think that is causing you some or all of the headache. Try setting the local cs to g55 or simply define the workpiece setup as being rotated 180 degrees and translated to the appropriate height, eg. + or - .375 and stay with g54, but as the global cs, not local. I would also use hole machining with hole pocketing as the strategy for the four notches that meet up to the ramp/slot. And don't forget spiral approach on your waterlines, I use that all the time with great results rather than just plunging.
Good Luck,
Dan

QUOTE (bll230 @ Nov 14 2013, 09:17 AM) *
I need help. I am trying to mill the 4 slot/ramps. I never thought this would be complicated. Nothing I try works, can Mr. SprutUK take a look at it.

Thanks

John

+Quote Post
danh818
post Nov 15 2013, 02:11 AM
Post #3

I had some time at the end of the day today to play with your file John. Hopefully this is close to what you were working towards. It's by no means 'ready to run'. You will have to change tools, speeds and feeds, etc.
Good Luck,
Dan

Attached File(s)
Attached File  raptorgearfixtureplatedan.zip ( 796.13K ) Number of downloads: 1

+Quote Post
bll230
post Nov 15 2013, 02:59 AM
Post #4