anafranil online
IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Installation Failure Ver5.52
rtp_burnsville
post May 27 2009, 10:01 PM
Post #1


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 19-November 08
Member No.: 2,734



Hi,

I have downloaded the new version 5.52 and both copies appear to install without faults. However, when one attempts to run the program it fails with a cannot load kernel32.dll pop-up error box. I am guessing something is broke in the installation package.

Thanks,
Robert
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sprut_UK
post May 28 2009, 06:05 AM
Post #2


Advanced Member
***

Group: Administrators
Posts: 1,091
Joined: 12-December 07
From: United Kingdom
Member No.: 4



Hi Robert, where are you downloading the new build from?

Dave


--------------------
"Never interrupt your opponent when he is making a mistake..." - Napoleon Bonaparte
www.sprut.co.uk
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rtp_burnsville
post May 28 2009, 11:33 AM
Post #3


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 19-November 08
Member No.: 2,734



Hi Dave,

I downloaded the files from www.sprutcam.com using the link on their home page.

I downloaded the release two different times using two different PC's but the install does not work in the same way for both copies.

1) Uninstalled version 5.51
2) Reboted
3) Installed version 5.52
4) Reboted
5) Attempted to run new version when fault appears.



Last night I tired two different things:
First:
1) Copied the Kernel.dll file from the WINNT directory into the SC directory.
2) Attempted to run version 5.52 with the same result.

Second:
1) Uninstalled version 5.52
2) Rebooted
3) Reinstalled version 5.51
4) Reboated.
5) Version 5.51 works.

I am convinced something in the install of SC 5.52 is broken.

Thanks,
Robert


QUOTE (Sprut_UK @ May 28 2009, 01:05 AM) *
Hi Robert, where are you downloading the new build from?

Dave

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sprut_UK
post May 28 2009, 12:21 PM
Post #4


Advanced Member
***

Group: Administrators
Posts: 1,091
Joined: 12-December 07
From: United Kingdom
Member No.: 4



Hi Robert, it doesn't sound like you are doing anything wrong. Have your tried contacting Sprut support and see if they are aware of this problem? The version that I distribute to my customers is working no problem.


--------------------
"Never interrupt your opponent when he is making a mistake..." - Napoleon Bonaparte
www.sprut.co.uk
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rtp_burnsville
post May 28 2009, 04:35 PM
Post #5


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 19-November 08
Member No.: 2,734



Hi Dave,

Not yet, I'll do that this evening..... Thanks

QUOTE (Sprut_UK @ May 28 2009, 07:21 AM) *
Hi Robert, it doesn't sound like you are doing anything wrong. Have your tried contacting Sprut support and see if they are aware of this problem? The version that I distribute to my customers is working no problem.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rtp_burnsville
post Jun 3 2009, 07:27 PM
Post #6


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 19-November 08
Member No.: 2,734



Update:

After several installion attempts on various PC's it appears that ver 5.52 (various build numbers) has a problem when Win2K is the operating system. I have two different Win2K systems on which SC refuses to run and generate the error message listed above. The good news is if you have an XP system two attempts to run on those platforms were successful.

I'll send this info and details to SC this evening.

Robert
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sprut_UK
post Jun 3 2009, 08:42 PM
Post #7


Advanced Member
***

Group: Administrators
Posts: 1,091
Joined: 12-December 07
From: United Kingdom
Member No.: 4



Hi Robert, thanks for the update on this problem. I don't have any of my customers running Win2k so that's why I wont have come across this as a problem.
I know that Sprut changed to a new Windows installer late last year, so maybe it's an issue with this.
Hopefully they can sort it for you soon.

Dave


--------------------
"Never interrupt your opponent when he is making a mistake..." - Napoleon Bonaparte
www.sprut.co.uk
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 9th December 2018 - 09:18 PM