Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Using a slitting saw, How to SC a slitting saw operation
Bevin
post Feb 10 2009, 11:00 AM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 2,738

I have just purchased SprutCAM 5.47 after trialling it for a month and viewing the excellent tutorial videos from Dave of Sprut UK. So I am a beginner with a few weeks of hands-on learning, and I'm having a problem.

I wish to use a splitting saw to put a slot in one side of a collar. The saw is 60mm diameter, 3mm wide. I examined the slitting saw operation in Project 49.1 from ...\Examples\4D Milling and can see a vertical surface or profile outside of the workpiece and also a single line inside the bore. I guess at least one of them is needed for a slitting saw operation, and I have been given to ideas to achieve the results.

1. In 2D Geometry, create a straight vertical face 3mm high to be machined using '2D Contouring' operation as if the saw were an end mill of 3mm length.
2. In 2D Geometry, create a straight line located just inside the bore of the collar and coplanar with the side surface of the slot. The straight line would be the profile for the "end mill" to machine using 2D Contouring operation.

I tried to create the vertical surface but the rectangle I drew using a local CS, and which I Chained, was not seen as a surface when I tried to Job Assignment it for a 2D Contouring operation. Perhaps I have to draw just one line and extrude it 3mm high to form a surface. Can SC 2D Geomtery do this?

I also tried to '2D Contouring' the straigt line but the line was not seen as a contour for the Job Assignment.

In both attempts I remembered to return to Global Mill CS while in Machining.

Any comments would be greatly appreciated.
Bevin
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Live
post Feb 10 2009, 01:04 PM
Post #2

Member No.: 2,767

Hello Bevin,

I think, you have not to do any additional drafting in the 2d Geometry.