Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> New User: Trouble Generating Toolpaths
RamLab
post Apr 8 2012, 03:20 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 3,385

I have been CNC machining for a number of years using mostly different versions of MasterCAM. I recently started learning SprutCam for the lab I work in.

I found the tutorial videos produced by Tormach and believe I understand the program fairly well. However, after assigning geometry and cutting parameters, when I attempt to generate toolpaths using the "Run" button nothing happens.

I even went so far as to copy the procedures shown in the tutorial videos step by step using similar parts, but it still won't produce toolpaths. It simply says "done".

Is it possible there is some small step I am overlooking? Any help is appreciated and thank you in advance!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Sprut_UK
post Apr 8 2012, 07:16 PM
Post #2

Advanced Member

Group: Administrators
Member No.: 4

Hi Ramlab, and welcome to the SprutCAM forum.

It sounds like you are probably missing a fundamental step somewhere, which is not unusual when learning anything new.

It's very difficult to diagnose the possible cause from your description, but if you can attach your SprutCAM project (*.stc) I'll happily take a look at it for you.

Please zip the project before attaching it as this avoids any possible corruption of the file.

Dave

--------------------
"Never interrupt your opponent when he is making a mistake..." - Napoleon Bonaparte
www.sprut.co.uk

+Quote Post
RamLab
post Apr 9 2012, 07:56 AM
Post #3

Thank you for taking a look at this. The path I have attempted to make is a simple roughing pass. From my past experience I would have used drive surfaces to define this tool path, but what I have seen so far from tutorials suggests SprutCam would handle this better with waterline. What is your opinion?
Attached File(s)
Attached File  class_2_mod_2.zip ( 182.42K ) Number of downloads: 27