Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Newbie questions
Jim P.
post Nov 7 2007, 04:56 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 2,092

Hello,
I am new to CNC machining, but not new to CAD and solid modelling. I am using SprutCAM 2007 and AutoDesk Inventor 10 and have encountered some problems:

1. What format is best to export IGES files in? My choices include '143-Bounded', '144 Trimmed' and within those I have choices for 'solids', 'surfaces', 'wireframe', as well as 'NURBS' and 'Analytic'. In some cases I get missing faces when importing the model to SprutCAM.

2. I cannot directly click on faces to choose them when in the machining tab. I choose the faces in the model importing tab, manually write down the face numbers, then switch to the machining tab and select them from the list of faces. Why can't I choose the faces directly - is it to do with the IGES format in #1 above?

3. SprutCAM claims to support Inventor native format files, but when I try to import them, nothing comes in.

If anyone can offer some pointers, I would very much appreciate it.

Thanks
Jim
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Sprut_UK
post Nov 7 2007, 05:22 PM
Post #2

Advanced Member

Group: Administrators
Member No.: 4

Hi Jim, and welcome to the forum.
There is an addin in SprutCAM 2007 for Inventor...it might be worth trying that if you have them both installed on the same PC.
In SprutCAM select 'Tools - Addin manager'. I don't have Inventor so cannot vouch for it's functionality.......let me know how you get on with it.

The Help files in SprutCAM have more information on the required *.IGS format. Do a search on 'Import' and you'll soon find it.
I have used Analytic in previous versions of Inventor with some success.......

You must have the 'Geometrical model visibility' option turned on to be able to select faces etc. You will find the toolbar for this at the bottom of the main SprutCAM window.

Dave

Beer makes you feel how you ought to feel without beer.

+Quote Post
Jim P.