anafranil online
IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Open Type Font File
Tom
post Jul 21 2009, 12:48 PM
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 24-February 09
Member No.: 2,770



Hi all,

I have been looking through the forum and can't find what I'm looking for. I have a customer who wants me to do some engraving for them. They are requesting a specific font. They sent me an Adobe open type font. Is there a way I can import these into SprutCam? I have been successful in importing them into Microsoft Word, but can't seem to get them imported into SprutCam. Is there a font folder somewhere that I am not finding?

Thanks
Tom
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sprut_UK
post Jul 21 2009, 01:56 PM
Post #2


Advanced Member
***

Group: Administrators
Posts: 1,091
Joined: 12-December 07
From: United Kingdom
Member No.: 4



Hi Tom, welcome to the forum. You can select any installed Windows 'Open' or 'True' type fonts in SprutCAM.
'Model' (tab) - 'Text' - 'Font' (tab) - 'Font' then select the required font.

Dave


--------------------
"Never interrupt your opponent when he is making a mistake..." - Napoleon Bonaparte
www.sprut.co.uk
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tom
post Jul 21 2009, 02:07 PM
Post #3


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 24-February 09
Member No.: 2,770



QUOTE (Sprut_UK @ Jul 21 2009, 09:56 AM) *
Hi Tom, welcome to the forum. You can select any installed Windows 'Open' or 'True' type fonts in SprutCAM.
'Model' (tab) - 'Text' - 'Font' (tab) - 'Font' then select the required font.

Dave

Thanks Dave,

I have tried to do that, but the text is not showing up there as an option. I added the text into my windows/font folder, it shows up in Microsoft word, but not in SprutCam. I didn't know if I needed to add it somewhere speacial in Sprut or had to activate it some way?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sprut_UK
post Jul 22 2009, 07:01 AM
Post #4


Advanced Member
***

Group: Administrators
Posts: 1,091
Joined: 12-December 07
From: United Kingdom
Member No.: 4



Tom, I have checked with the software engineers and apparently there is only support for Windows True Type Fonts (TTF) in the current version of SprutCAM........my installation shows the fonts with a preceding 'O' instead of 'TT' which suggested that 'O'pen font types were supported.....however, this is not the case.
They are now considering adding support for Adobe Open Fonts in the future.

Dave


--------------------
"Never interrupt your opponent when he is making a mistake..." - Napoleon Bonaparte
www.sprut.co.uk
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Tom
post Jul 22 2009, 12:40 PM
Post #5


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 24-February 09
Member No.: 2,770



Thank you Dave for your effort. I guess I'll have figure a work around to get the text onto my part.

Thanks again,
Tom
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mike Henry
post Jul 26 2009, 09:20 PM
Post #6


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 235
Joined: 12-December 07
Member No.: 50



QUOTE (Tom @ Jul 22 2009, 12:40 PM) *
Thank you Dave for your effort. I guess I'll have figure a work around to get the text onto my part.

Thanks again,
Tom


Can you model your part in 3D CAD and add the text there?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sprut_UK
post Jul 26 2009, 09:45 PM
Post #7


Advanced Member
***

Group: Administrators
Posts: 1,091
Joined: 12-December 07
From: United Kingdom
Member No.: 4



Good point..........which has reminded me that you used to be able to create text in Corel Draw and then export it in dxf format...........if it uses Open type fonts?
I've just checked Rhino3D and that only uses True Type Fonts.........


--------------------
"Never interrupt your opponent when he is making a mistake..." - Napoleon Bonaparte
www.sprut.co.uk
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 9th December 2018 - 09:18 PM