anafranil online
IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Error in Mach postprocessors?
mechamania
post May 19 2012, 11:40 PM
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 19-May 12
Member No.: 3,403



Hi,

I'm evaluating SprutCam.
I'm using SprutCam to generate the G-code for my Mach3 based milling machine.
The code below is generated to drill some holes.

T2M6
G00G17X4.Y-6.928S2000M3
Z2.0560
G81Z7.0000R-1.056F200.0
X8.Y0.
X4.Y6.928
X-4.
X-8.Y0.
X-4.Y-6.928
X0.Y0.
Z2.0000
G80
G49Z2.0560
G0X0Y0
M30

But when running this I get the following error: "R less than z in cycle in xy plane"

On the line with the G81 code we see the values Z = 7.0000 and R = -1.056 and thus R is less then Z.
Is this a bug of the Mach postprocessor?
(both the mach.spp and mach3_acumill.spp have this problem)

Can somebody help me out here and tell me what is wrong here and how I could solve this?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sprut_UK
post May 20 2012, 02:32 PM
Post #2


Advanced Member
***

Group: Administrators
Posts: 1,091
Joined: 12-December 07
From: United Kingdom
Member No.: 4



The Rapid height (R-1.056) is below the finished depth of the hole (Z7.0000) so that is the cause of the error message I would think.

As to the cause, it's very difficult to tell without seeing the SprutCAM project (*.stc) + the postprocessor (*.spp) that you are using.

Dave


--------------------
"Never interrupt your opponent when he is making a mistake..." - Napoleon Bonaparte
www.sprut.co.uk
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mechamania
post May 21 2012, 07:38 AM
Post #3


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 19-May 12
Member No.: 3,403



Here is the SprutCam project and the file it generated.
I used the mach.spp postprocessor.
Attached File(s)
Attached File  CabinCentre.zip ( 435.69K ) Number of downloads: 3
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sprut_UK
post May 21 2012, 09:56 AM
Post #4


Advanced Member
***

Group: Administrators
Posts: 1,091
Joined: 12-December 07
From: United Kingdom
Member No.: 4



The postprocessor which you are using appears to be out of date. Attached is one which I had on my desktop which appears to be better for drilling.
If you decide to use it, this is entirely at your own risk etc. etc.

Dave
Attached File(s)
Attached File  Mach3_07022012.zip ( 6.38K ) Number of downloads: 18
 


--------------------
"Never interrupt your opponent when he is making a mistake..." - Napoleon Bonaparte
www.sprut.co.uk
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mechamania
post May 21 2012, 08:01 PM
Post #5


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 19-May 12
Member No.: 3,403



QUOTE (Sprut_UK @ May 21 2012, 11:56 AM) *
The postprocessor which you are using appears to be out of date. Attached is one which I had on my desktop which appears to be better for drilling.
If you decide to use it, this is entirely at your own risk etc. etc.

Dave


Thanks Dave. This one seems to generate more correct code!

I also found out that the PCNC1100.spp is a Mach3 postprocessor. Can you tell me which one is better suitable for a generic Mach3 mill?

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Sprut_UK
post May 22 2012, 07:07 AM
Post #6


Advanced Member
***

Group: Administrators
Posts: 1,091
Joined: 12-December 07
From: United Kingdom
Member No.: 4



QUOTE (mechamania @ May 21 2012, 09:01 PM) *
Thanks Dave. This one seems to generate more correct code!

I also found out that the PCNC1100.spp is a Mach3 postprocessor. Can you tell me which one is better suitable for a generic Mach3 mill?


The PCNC1100 is the postprocessor for the Tormach machine which currently uses the Mach3 controller.. I don't have first hand experience with using the Mach3 controller, but I believe that it can be altered quite a bit in the way it behaves by end users / machine manufacturers, so I don't think that there can be a generic post for this. I would suggest getting in touch with your local SprutCAM dealer / supplier and work with them in fine-tuning a postprocessor to suit your particular needs.

Dave


--------------------
"Never interrupt your opponent when he is making a mistake..." - Napoleon Bonaparte
www.sprut.co.uk
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th July 2019 - 08:10 AM